Posted by: zhak39 | May 10, 2010

Carry On

Helen’s last day of community college and she had a persuasive presentation in one of her classes. Helen remains true to herself and although presenting to the class was hard she met the challenge with determination. And because she was Helen she did not let peer pressure or even her doubting professor stop her from leaving her classmates with a message and advice that she felt carries import now and in their futures. And also because she is Helen, she backed up everything with research, practical advice and effective visuals.

“Clearly shotguns are problematic weapons. They make a lot of noise which can attract the very enemy you need to avoid. They are imprecise. They need to be reloaded, wasting precious time. When facing zombies, use a crowbar.”

She needed a box to carry her materials to school. Something not too bulky, not too big. We went to a crafts store to see if we could get an old fashioned hat box. The clerk had never seen a real hat box but he showed me the kinds of boxes they had.

“They’re the wrong shape and too small.”

“Let me call the stock manager. What size exactly do you need?” he asked as he called in with his walkie talkie.

“Big enough for a severed head,” I told him.

Don't hate me 'cause I'm beautiful

The professor’s experience with zombie presentations was not positive–too many goofballs that did not have a spot on message.  Helen got an A.

Responses

  1. Preparation is the key to getting a head.

  2. You’re killing me, Crabby! And not with a crowbar.

  3. I shall share a bit of wisdom from my dear mother:

    “Get that hair out of your eyes. Show the world that pretty face of yours!”

    It’s nice to know that a community college persuasive argument doesn’t rely on shock value, and is actually about the art of persuasive speaking.

  4. Perhaps you missed the part about the professor having negative experiences with zombie presentations. Or the part about Helen using clear research, practical advice and effective visuals. She successfully combined an off-beat topic with the appropriate skills to make a compelling presentation. Of course, my communication skills can’t be lacking. This is a blog, after all, and it’s on the internet so it must be journalism.

    • I congratulate your daughter. And, my communication skills were definitely off earlier. I meant it sincerely, not sarcastically. It is nice to know her effort was appreciated, and that lesser efforts were seen for what they were — hence the appropriately negative effect on the professor of earlier presentations on this topic.

      So, my congratulations and apologies to Helen. And to the readers.

      Too much time away from Hillary, I guess. I need to be kept in line now and again. Ever since Buddy got hit by that car in the neighborhood here, and the heart surgeries, I’m just not what I once was when I’m alone — which is to say, I was never alone, if you know what I’m saying.

      And yes, this is journalism because it is a blog. The only higher form of journalism is conservative talk radio, where they tell you what to think and you do so.


Leave a Reply

Categories

