Posted by: zhak39 | July 4, 2009

Garden Variety

My aim in being involved in establishing a community garden was not just to grow local foods but to build community.  This is expressed in our 10% giveaway, the community beds, the layout inviting people to walk and enjoy the tranquil scene.  It is also integral in the chance meetings of gardeners and the conversations that naturally arise as plot owners come by daily to care for their individual gardens.

Last night when I went to water another gardener came by.  I was a little preoccupied.  One of my sons had just told me that he was interested in talking to a marine recruiter.  He is a rising junior and is beginning to think about what he will do after finishing high school.  I mentioned this to the other gardener as we were watering our plants.

“Given your beliefs I imagine that’s really hard for you,” she said.

That seemed like an odd thing to say.  She and I had never spoken about my beliefs.  We had never spoken about philosophy or lifestyle or religion.  We’d talked about beans once or twice.

“I mean, you probably don’t think that it is ever acceptable to go to war.”

Where was she getting this from?

“Actually,” I told her, “our country was justified in entering World War II.  There were atrocities that needed to be addressed and I can wish that there had been a peaceful resolution to them but I can understand that a military response can be part of a solution. ”

“Well I think that punishing a country that sent terrorists to destroy buildings in our country merits a military response.”

I was dumbfounded and made the mistake of reacting rather than responding.

“Iraq had nothing to do with the 9/11 attacks.”

She gave me one of those knowing smiles that are reserved for the terribly ignorant.

“My son’s are in the Marines.  They tell me things that you probably don’t know about.”

How can anyone still believe that Saddam Hussein was the true initiator of the 9/11 attacks?  This amazes me.

But some people do.  And I would not have believed this if I had not had the opportunity to talk to a stranger with a similar common interest in making life a little better by clearing ground and growing something good.

For those who didn’t get the memo…

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “Bush admits that Iraq Had Nothing To …“, posted with vodpod
Leave a Reply

Categories

